No Pic

Island Waters Flyfishers was originally established in 1985 as a non-profit club by a group who simply enjoyed fishing together, and whose hope and purpose it was to engage others and to promote and facilitate fly-fishing and comradery in this area.

The primary purpose of the club is:

  1. To practice, further and promote the art of fly fishing.
  2. To practice and promote fish conservation and enhancement.
  3. To encourage fellowship and sportsmanship amongst anglers.

Club Constitution

Past and Ongoing Activities

Our club activities include: stream stewardship partnerships with government agencies and other community groups to monitor water quality and undertake fish habitat restoration projects; physical support in the activities of numerous fish hatcheries on the Island; clinics for our members and others including the secondary schools in the community interested in fly casting and fly tying; advocacy for the recreational fishery; support related community events such as BC Family fish Day, Rivers Day and fund-raising for the PSF; and we network extensively with neighbouring fly-fishing clubs.

Founding board of officers and directors:

Role First Name Last Name
President John O'Brian
Vice President Dave West
Secretary Lloyd Erickson
Treasurer Paul Insho
Directors Roy Sorensen
Ken Church
Jim Wilson
Randy Shaw
Gilly Bill Brown

2019 Club Administrators:

Contact info for very important persons

Executive:
Role First Name Last Name Phone Email Address
President Bob MacEachern president@iwff.ca
Vice President Jason Perry vp@iwff.ca
Secretary Gordon Sharrock secretary@iwff.ca
Treasurer Ian Stewart treasurer@iwff.ca
Past President Don Ginter
Directors:
Role First Name Last Name Phone Email Address
Membership Jason Perry membership@iwff.ca
Fly Draw Jeorge McGladrey
Conservation Bob Kissinger conservation@iwff.ca
Program Director John Ellis programs@iwff.ca
Ticket Master Dennis Mullins
Fly Tying Jack Toomer fly.tying@iwff.ca
Web Master Dan Hooper webmaster@iwff.ca
Library Ton Plijnaar library@iwff.ca
Communication Director Bruce Murray communications@iwff.ca
Gilley Gerry Stevens (250)754-4124
Greeter Rick Wanhill
Director at Large Bill Croft

Meetings

Our meetings are held 7:15 PM on the fourth Tuesday of each month at our location, top floor Air Cadet Field House on the Nanaimo Military Base (map below). Visitors and Guests are very welcome!